The Department of Neurology’s academic structure is provided by several overlapping units and missions:

Clinical divisions

Clinical responsibility is divided among the divisions of:

  • Adult Neurology
    • Aging and Dementia
    • Clinical Neuropsychology
    • Epilepsy
    • General Neurology & Headache Medicine
    • Movement Disorders
    • Neurocritical Care
    • Neurohospitalist Medicine
    • Multiple Sclerosis & Neuroimmunology
    • Neuroinfectious Diseases
    • Neuromuscle Medicine
    • Sleep Medicine
    • Stroke and Cerebrovascular Diseases
  • Pediatric Neurology
    • Pediatric General Neurology
    • Neonatal Neurology
    • Pediatric Epilepsy
    • Pediatric Movement Disorders & Cerebral Palsy
    • Pediatric Neurocritical Care

Cross-organizational collaboration

Consistent with the spirit of collaboration that pervades Washington University School of Medicine, many neurology faculty belong to more than one section, and sections often include faculty primarily based in other departments. Similarly, many neurology faculty hold joint appointments in other clinical or basic science departments.

Members of the faculty are active in interdepartmental PhD or MD/PhD training programs, such as the Washington University Program in Neuroscience. The department maintains, on average, approximately 10 graduate students working toward completion of PhD or MD/PhD degrees in laboratories directed by neurology faculty members.

Research efforts are also coordinated by two research centers: the Hope Center for Neurological Disorders and the Knight Alzheimer Disease Research Center (ADRC) and studies take place in a number of additional centers and labs. Institutional support for neuroscience research is additionally provided by two endowed research centers at WUSM, the McDonnell Center for Higher Brain Function and the McDonnell Center for Cellular and Molecular Neurobiology. The department is an active participant in an annual neuroscience retreat sponsored by these two McDonnell Centers.