Our mission: clinical, research, educational excellence and community.

In the Department of Neurology at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, we strive to provide outstanding clinical care, to train leading neurologists and scientists of the future, and to continue to serve as an international leader in clinical and basic research of disorders of the nervous system.

Building upon a long-standing tradition of excellence in these areas, our goal is to bring scientific research and discovery from the bench to the bedside to improve the lives of our patients.

Each of the our clinical services is staffed by faculty and clinical physicians, and in partnership with our affiliated hospitals and medical facilities, we serve patients of all ages. Our clinical neurology faculty serve as the medical staff for Barnes-Jewish Hospital, the main adult teaching hospital, and St. Louis Children’s Hospital, the main pediatric hospital, and our resident and physician trainees receive training and provide care at these institutions. In addition to learning in the clinical settings of our outpatient facilities and the hospital floors, students have access to the Washington University Farrell Learning and Teaching Center, a state-of-the-art facility that provides an ideal learning environment.

Physical therapist Elizabeth Hughes works with patient Alishia Bean

Our research efforts range from basic science investigations through translational research and clinical application. Neurology research labs are located throughout the university in the East Building, Biotech Building, McMillan Building, The Rehabilitation Institute of St. Louis, Irene Walters Johnson Building, East McDonnell Science Building, McDonnell Sciences Building and the new Sleep Center offices located five miles west of Washington University Medical Campus. While there are numerous publicly and privately funded research centers within the department, the Hope Center for Neurological Disorders and the Knight Alzheimer Disease Research Center (also known as the ADRC) serve as the primary centers.