Awards Newsletter

Neurology Awards 2023 — So Far

Department of Neurology Awards - 2023

Several members of our department received distinguished service teaching awards from the medical school class of 2024, which just completed its clerkship. These individuals were selected from among the entire faculty, residents and staff of the medical school.

  • Clerkship Coordinator of the Year – Christine McIntosh
  • Clinical Care: Patient Care Distinguished Service Teaching Award – Jennifer Griffith
  • Research Distinguished Service Teaching Award – Arjun Padalia
  • Critical Thinking: Medical Topic Distinguished Service Teaching Award – Michael Butler

On May 26, 2023, we held the Neurology Academic Symposium in which residents and fellows presented their research posters. This year was the first time we included fellows in the symposium. A new award named for David Holtzman was introduced, recognizing the top fellow research poster. The following research awards were given:

  • Leonard Berg Award for Top Resident Research Poster – Ana Vaquer-Alicea
  • David Holtzman Award for Top Fellow Research Poster – BJ Heuermann

On June 16, 2023, we held the Department of Neurology Graduation Ceremony to honor our graduating residents and fellows. As part of the ceremony the following awards were given:

  • Neurology Clerkship Student Teaching Award Craig Zaidman and Osvaldo Laurido-Soto
  • Irwin Levy Resident Teaching Award for the Neurology Clerkship Kristina Rankine and Gabriel Velez Vazquez
  • Neurology Clerkship Student Teaching Honor Roll – Arun Varadhachary, Jennifer Griffith, Emmanuel Perez, Bob Bucelli, Richard Dunham, Grace Tabatabai, Jared Goodman, Karolina Kata, Mohammad Khasawaneh, Saif Sharayah and Wei Zhao
  • Arthur Prensky Award for Outstanding Teaching by a Pediatric Neurology Attending – Benjamin Kay
  • Steven M. Rothman Award for Outstanding Teaching by a Pediatric Neurology Resident – Michelle Lee
  • Sven Eliasson Award for Teaching Excellence – Renee Van Stavern
  • Adult Neurology Teaching Excellence Honor Roll – David Carpenter, Rachel Darken, Peter Kang, Salah Keyrouz, Steven Dunham, Bob Bucelli, Muhammad Al-Lozi and Jay Maiti
  • Abdullah M. Nassief Award – Ravi Chopra